top of page

Excerpt From 'Jazz Sessions: Lessons He Taught Me (A Memoir)


Buy Bitches Brew by Miles Davis HERE

It was September 2013... I had not planned on staying in Cleveland when I returned home to visit. I had finally convinced myself that this trip was temporary. It was September, Autumn of 2013 and while the weather was still warm, I began dreading Winter. I resisted staying in Cleveland, Lebron had not made it back home either, however, it soon became obvious that plans for my return had already been made. Contemplating... While browsing through an array of Cleveland inspired brochures, Magazines and other literature, I soon came across the September issue of 'Cleveland' Magazine. Although our 'Beloved Browns' graced the cover, it wasn't long before the name Miles Davis, caught my eye. To my surprise, Cleveland's very own Jazz Orchestra was set to pay tribute to Davis and in conjunction with this special event, the Art of Miles Davis would be exhibited at the galleries of Cleveland State University. "Very trendy for Cleveland", I thought and since I had just acquired a Miles Davis Album collection months earlier, I was eager to attend both the concert, and exhibit. I didn't know it then, but the CJO's tribute to Miles, would also change my life forever. ...It was October just like Miles, Cleveland was 'The Birth of Cool'. The moment I stepped into the Galleries at CSU, and laid eyes on Mile's work, I felt honored to be in Cleveland's presence. His intimate yet seductive works were the prerequisites needed for the upcoming concerts that were set to take place just hours away. I wanted more and more was certainly in store..............

It is November...The Night had Fallen on Cleveland. I was in a Jazz maze the night I stepped into Kennedy's Cabaret. Located just beneath the lobby of the Ohio Theatre, this 1921 historic Landmark, featured exposed brick walls adorned with black and white photographs of Cleveland and vintage Broadway posters, intimate seating and a quaint stage. It was the perfect venue for Jazz, Jazz lovers and an evening of 'Electric Miles'. As the attendees eagerly waited for the lights to dim...Out of nowhere it seemed... appeared a distinguished man with long graying locs. His infectious smile overshadowed the room as guests began to hover around him, laughing, talking and sharing moments. "Who is that Man with the locs", I wondered. "Oh, there is Bobby Jackson," someone said...Fade to Black The exquisite Hanna Auditorium located in beautiful downtown Cleveland is filled to capacity with Jazz connoisseurs, Jazz enthusiasts and students of Jazz. It's a different evening, a different mood. The CJO's Miles Davis tribute part 2 was set to begin and I was excited for Cleveland. I mingled through the lobby, smiled at guests and strolled with confidence around the auditorium, until I was stopped in my tracks. "There here is again", I thought, Bobby Jackson. I'm going to say hello". We spoke briefly, he complimented my style and then... The LIGHTS went DOWN... After the concert, I was whisked away to a Jazz club I had never visited before. It was Nighttown and I was impressed. Not only is Cleveland the Birthplace of Rock and Roll, it is also a cool place for Jazz and it was at Nighttown where I saw Bobby Jackson for a third time. We spoke again briefly... His smile, his style... was glowing as he said to me..."I Like Your Locs'. Thank you, I quietly replied... ...

It is December... It's Winter in Cleveland. The Miles Davis exhibit and tribute had come to an end... "Remember that man with the gray Locs", "yea...Bobby Jackson"? "well, he passed on today"... "I just saw him not even three weeks ago" I uttered... September came back... The Miles exhibit came back, the concerts came back...and the pathway that took me to see his smile all came rushing in...I was touched and crushed. ...I'm at Nighttown for Bobby Jackson's Jazz memorial... It seemed as if all of Cleveland came out to pay their respects. I sat...and listened as memories of Bobby swarmed through this unique place for Jazz. Mr. Jackson certainly touched so many Clevelanders along his journey. Suddenly, a beautiful older woman, whom I shared a table with...looked into my eyes, took my hand... and said " That's my Son they are talking about, I'm Bobby's Mother,"... Chocked up, I was in a daze as I clinched her hand to console her. We both looked into each other's eyes... we shared a tear, I held her hand and smiled...Almost immediately, an energy soared from her body into mine...... teary eyed...I saw his smile through hers.... "Our next vocalist" is Charmel", said Jazz director Sean Jones. I stood up, walked towards Nighttown's elegant stage and made my Nighttown debut. Cleveland's finest musicians, were geared and ready to play. With passion, I belted out a smooth jazz rendition of "What You won't Do for Love by Bobby Caldwell... ....It was at that moment, I felt as if I were welcomed back home to Cleveland. I crossed paths with Jazz that evening and the Cleveland Jazz Orchestra was the transporter.

re was certainly in store.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page