top of page

HOW I ACQUIRED A 'MILES DAVIS ALBUM COLLECTION'


Buy Music from Miles Davis HERE

One evening, 'Out of the Blue,' I received a phone call from a childhood friend. What he said, immediately took me back to a place where I heard Jazz music played for the first time. "My father is quite ill", he said, You should go and see him". "Of course" I replied. The next morning, without hesitation, I followed the advice of my dear friend and went to visit his father, Ron Adams II. Mr. Adams was quite the Jazz enthusiast and later, as stories were told, I found out that he was also a Jazz drummer in his day while living in Cleveland. I recall, on any given Friday or Saturday evening, one could hear the sophisticated yet complicated sounds of Jazz music playing on his record player from inside of his home office which also doubled as a music listening room and Jazz library. His Jazz albums were naturally protected, alphabetized and neatly shelved. Jazz swarmed the room revealing the history of Bop, Bebop and Jazz vocalists. Whenever I passed this space, I would peek in and say hello. "Hey Cool", he would respond. I would smile yet wondered why he called me "COOL". From that moment, every time I would see Mr. Adams he would refer to me as "COOL"..... never by my first name. He would simply call me "COOL"....and at that time I didn't know why. As time went on, I had become a 'cultured' adult listening to Jazz and soon discovered Trumpeter Miles Davis's legendary album 'Birth of the Cool'.... Discovering that album had finally answered my child hood inquiry. Mr. Adams saw something in me ... something that was a reflection of what it meant to be "COOL". To him, I was "COOL" just like his Jazz collection and I appreciated the compliment even more. When Mr. Adams became ill I was reminded again.... of how much being called "COOL" was actually "COOL"....... When he passed away, I found myself being as COOL as ever. "Do you want my fathers albums", he asked... His massive Jazz Music collection, which use to be played in heavy rotation stood still as if they awaited their next destination. As we sorted through Mr. Adam's unique Vinyl's; consisting of Dizzie, Stitt, Bassie, Byrd, Coltrane, Ella, Holiday, Sara Vaughn and many others, I simply responded, "I just want Miles".... With extra care, I selected every Miles Davis Album he owned and packed them away safely. There are a total of '23'albums, which by no means reflect Davis's illustrious recording career, however my piece of Jazz has history. I am reminded about my child hood, being introduced to Jazz and why Mr. Adams called me "Cool"......... this is How I acquired a "MILES DAVIS ALBUM COLLECTION" I hold his legacy and the legacy of Jazz in my possession...... Thank YOU.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page